We used to have this game…

… and like with most couples and inside jokes it just developed.  And you could explain it to someone new, but it’s not the same.  The boy knows it, because he was around us then, but that’s it.

What would happen is we’d take turns with the Aux cable in my jeep.  One of us would play a song, then we had to hand it off to the other person and let them play theirs.  Sometimes it’d be good stuff, you couldn’t wait to see their reaction, because it’d be the perfect song for the moment.  Sometimes it’d be bad stuff to annoy them, you couldn’t wait to see their reaction, because it’d be the perfect (annoying) song for the moment.  Guess who usually did the annoying?  Well, that’s not true, she’d play DMB to get a rise out of me from time to time.  Sometimes it didn’t have as much to do with the other person, we were just playing music and songs we wanted to hear, but we found a way to do it fairly without fighting for the radio.  She chair danced to the Fugees’ “Killing Me Softly” once and it was the cutest thing I’d ever seen in my life, so I’d play that from time to time to try and get her to do it again, but I made such a big deal out of it the first time that it made her self conscious and she never really did it again.  She thought I was making fun of her and I wasn’t, it made my heart sing to watch.

Every time I road trip I miss that interaction.  There’s a million things to miss, but that’s what I’m thinking of today.  It’s gorgeous outside.  A real fall day that Denver doesn’t normally get.  Not a cloud in the sky, leaves in town are changing and I’d just love to be driving along playing out game.

Leave a Reply

