Yeah we got a little convoy, ain’t she a beautiful sight?

A group of us were up in the mountains recently for a bicycle tour.  We spent the night in a hotel in one little town, then we woke up in the morning and had to leave our hotel parking lot and drive a little ways to another little mountain town to the starting point of ride.  Some people in our group had no idea what they were doing so of course we arranged ourselves in a little convoy.  On the very short ride traffic was crazy and even though we stayed fairly tight a couple of strange cars forced their way in between our cars.  This is stressful on anybody trying to follow the car in front of them to try and make sure they don’t get lost but apparently is even more stressful on GWOT vets.

We got to the parking lot and found spots and my buddy jumped out of his car, arms waving.  “Dude!  Did you see that.  Did you….  What…”  “Yeah.  I get it man.  Me too.  As soon as that one car pulled in between you and me I started to turn around so I could yell up in the turret to my gunner to light’em up.  It got my blood pressure up.”  You could see him deflate, physically.  As soon as he realized that I understood it too and he didn’t have to keep searching for words it was like a switch was flipped and all of a sudden it was funny and we seemed silly, if not a little embarrassed to admit it to one another.  It was nice to have someone there, RIGHT THEN who got it, who went through the exact same thing.  It’s always been nice to be able to laugh at those kinds of stories with one another over a couple beers, but it’s nice to know you’re not alone when it’s happening.

There was a time years ago when PG and I were at a movie, not long after the Aurora theater shooting.  I was carrying concealed and that made us both feel a little better during times like that.  We were sitting on the aisle as usual, but we were also sitting on the break in row of seats from the front of the theater to the back so people were walking back and forth in front of us to get to their seats.  After the movie started someone came trotting down the aisle and passed in front of us on their way out of the theater.  Not a run, but not a walk either.  Fast enough to make you go “Huh.  That was weird.”  And right after the theater shooting “Huh.  That was weird.” in a movie theater was not a good thing.  A few minutes later they came back, then someone else did it.  It was a enough.  I could practically feel PG vibrating next to me because she was so wound up by it and the hairs onto the back of my neck were standing up.  “Do you want to go?” I asked.  Frantic head nod from PG in response.  So we did.  There was no way we could sit there and enjoy the movie.  She was embarrassed on the way out, apologizing for ruining it for me and I had to reassure her it wasn’t just her, it was me too.  My spidey sense had been tingling and I didn’t feel safe or comfortable either.  I would’ve left just for her, we’d done it in the past, but that wasn’t the case here.  Same thing, moments later we were shaking it off and laughing.  But to this day, I’m still glad someone was there to lean on.

Leave a Reply

